TLS, 'The Listening Session, Vol. 1'

TLS (The Listening Session) start 2023 with their much-anticipated mixtape.

The Listening Session, Vol. 1 showcases several emerging independent artists within Christian hip hop. It is a virtual who’s who of the indie scene including Rapzilla Freshmen Q-Flo, Prodi Da Prodigal, and Alcott. Also featured are Trutha, Mic Wise, Untidld, outr.cty, QEW, Bill B., DJLC, Mitch Darrell, Weez the Satellite Kiid, Scribe Music, Legacy, Kody Free, Cyrus Sonata, Lyriq Nawqiy, JusRzd, Leon, ADOE, and more!

See the track list below for a breakdown of the songs, artists, and producers. Let us know your favorite TLS track off the mixtape in the comments!

TLS track listing

Untidld released a new single titled Soil. This song speaks of bearing fruit as a Christian. “And he prunes every branch that produces fruit so that it will produce more fruit.” John 15:2

Untidld "Composure"

Composure, by Untidld, is about staying focused in the midst of obstacles.

The song uses sports references to show we have to stay composed with the game on the line. “Checked in like who this/ young boy with pose can’t dismiss/ I’m focused eye on the prize can’t do it alone I get help from the Sky”

If you liked Compsure, check out this song from Untidld.

2022 .WAVMaker Awards

The 2022 .WAVMaker Awards are taking place on January 1, 2023

Fan-voting for this year’s awards has officially come to a close. Your votes have helped to determine this year’s finalists. Make sure to tune in as this year’s award show is being powered by Trackstarz and will be streamed live on the Trackstarz YouTube channel.

The finalists are:

Artist of the Year

  • Nu Tone
  • Brinson
  • BRM

Project of the Year

  • Nu Tone, ‘Heavenly Legacy’
  • Brinson, ‘Before He Cracks the Sky’
  • Eddy Puyol, ‘Pronounced Pooh-Yole’

Single of the Year

  • LilRed, “Memories”
  • Cutright, “Trophy”
  • Scribe Music, “Show & Tell”

Lyricist of the Year

  • Q-Flo
  • Cutright
  • YP aka Young Paul

Collaboration of the Year

  • Scribe Music and Nu Tone – “Duppy Conqueror”
  • TC, BRM, Hugh Holla – “Little Saint”
  • Trutha, Q-Flo, Prodi Da Prodigal, Legacy – “Resurrection”

Rookie of the Year

  • LilRed
  • Oatmeal
  • Untidld

Cover Art of the Year

  • LilRed, “Spiritual Warfare”
  • Brinson, ‘Before He Cracks the Sky’
  • Scribe Music, “Duppy Conqueror”

Producer of the Year

  • Newselph
  • El Vow
  • K-Drama

Female Artist of the Year

  • Reece Lache’
  • Tarcea Renee
  • Childlike CiCi

EP/Mixtape of the Year

  • Dezzy Yates, ‘Enjoy, The Mixtape’
  • Eternity, ‘Dreams & Schemes’
  • Arrowz of Truth, ‘AOT V.3: The Alien Revolution 90s Mixtape’

Again, shoutout to everyone who voted this year. We surpassed the total votes from last year, you’re awesome! 

If you want to get involved with this year’s .WAVMaker Awards, there are still sponsorship opportunities available. Click here for more details.

Christian Hip Hop artist Untidld dropped his third single of the year, On the Throne. Centered around Isaiah 6, On the Throne showcases the angelic army that we all have fighting for us as believers with this bar:

“Making decrees up in heaven/ My angels they get the message/ strong, they never passive/ sound like a drum when they get to stepping/ you know where they heading”

This gritty drill beat was produced by fellow Philadelphian J-Dot Music and features one of CHH’s rising vocalists Mr. Chiwaz. On The Throne released August 12, 2022.

Stay connected with Untidld: Twitter | Instagram

Check out this additional release from Untidld.

Candles is an EP written and produced by Untidld. It’s a transparent collection of music dealing with patience, faith, doubt, and freedom.

Held Me Down is written and produced by Untidld.

It was written towards the end of 2021 with the aim to encourage listeners. Seems like the pandemic and everything that’s been going on has been stealing joy. Untidld teamed up with Trutha and Scribe Music to remind listeners that even when the storm starts rocking the boat God is always holding us down.