Many would argue that the current wave of CHH artists has lost their intentionality in pushing a Gospel-centered message. Perhaps in over-the-top attempts to be relevant, cool, and ingratiating to one’s audience.

Hugh Holla is not one you’ll find falling into that category.

His latest release, Glory Up, is further evidence of that.

Making his official splash onto the Christian hip hop scene with his 2020 Holla-Luja project, which garnered him well-deserved attention and recognition, Hugh continues to solidify himself as a consistent force in the genre.

The seven-song EP has a mixtape feel to it. That may have been the idea all along.

Holla is far from gimmicky. His flow is ice cold and his delivery deliberate, as if his faith has him unbothered on all fronts. His lyrics can’t help but convey that peace and staunch standing.

Tracks like Testaments, one of the project’s stronger records, make Hugh’s message and mission statement clear with bars like “I could ramble through some bars and tickle your thoughts/I’d rather help you water your heart and harvest the crops.”

Other stand-out records like Rooted and Untouchable offer more of the same gritty address and witty approach, that while are absent of any fluff, don’t waste any of the well-placed punchlines littered throughout.

Glory Up is refreshing for those who are looking for a pure Gospel message with a truly urban feel and relatable message. That doesn’t mean the project is without its flaws.

While the production is consistent and serviceable, it’s not spectacular. That goes back to the mixtape feel point made earlier.

The hooks and choruses are somewhat predictable, a bit time-stamped, but not detracting from the message of each song and the project as a whole. There is growth in this project and no apparent throwaway songwriting present.

Glory Up is a jewel, flaws and all.

Hugh Holla is so confident in his belief that the pointedness of this offering overcomes any technical or style issues that could be addressed. As stated, this is not a modern, current attempt to bring a relevant sound to the masses. This is an execution in delivering an authentic Christian message with a beat backdrop that doesn’t allow you to miss the intent of its content. Mission accomplished!

Let us know in the comments how you feel about Glory Up by Hugh Holla. Do you agree with this assessment? Which songs are standouts and which are lacking? #SoundOff


As a Follower of Christ, our final hope is that we hear “Well Done My Good and Faithful Servant” when we leave this earth. Paul reminds us to Run our Race and to Keep the Faith. We talk about significance of these 2 phrases, how we can operate in faith, even when our path forward gets blocked or broken, and much more.

Secondly, we have special guest FFOR the Hebrew visiting with us to talk about his latest album Starfields & Quasars, a joint album with Producer & Mastermind Musician Project Pluto. We also talk about Hebrew’s upbringing, his style of music, and ask the question, “Is it really possible to reach people for Christ through Hip Hop?” We also talk about Hebrew’s relationship with Blood Related Entertainment & Not By Bread Alone Radio – and his upcoming projects. To hear more music by FFOR the Hebrew, you can visit: or

Last but not least, our playlist:
– My Brain Gets Stormy feat. Emty
– Cloudy Day
– John
– Quasar Music feat. Pacaso Ramirez & Mr. Marshall
– Ponderosa (Starfields Bebop)
– Gymnastics
– Hebrew Trumpet (Way Past Pluto Mix)
– Light Years

Be sure to check out more of the best in Independent Christian Rap, Christian Hip Hop and Contemporary Gospel, interviews and more on or

Follow Delon on Twitter: @iamdelon

In this episode of #NBBARadio, Pacaso & Kingdom Taking discuss Comfortable Christianity. We discuss some of the actions of past saints that answer the question, should Christians be comfortable. We discuss how Christians view their faith vs. how they should view their faith, and much more.

In our Artist Development Segment, we discuss the Verbal Assault on Hip Hop. We break down some Hip Hop History, Hip Hop Culture. We discuss what Hip Hop should be, and what it’s not. Definitely an eye opening segment on Hip Hop in general. Don’t miss it.

Last but not least, our playlist:
– This Fire By Asheesh GodsMc
– Only Human by Nesfa feat. Tornado 418
– Set A Fire by Deuce Tre feat. Pyrexx
– Hakuna Akaita Semi by C.O.G.
– Struggling Sometimes by Brutha War
– Rainstorm by Presise
– A Million Tearz by Rapture Raps
– I’m Ready by Russ Shanks feat. Scope & Brianna Rae
– All Hail The King by King David tha Vessel feat. Nikeya Young, Brother 3 and Shannae Lenore

Make sure to check out more of the best in Independent Christian Rap, Christian Hip Hop and Contemporary Gospel, interviews and more on or